Review: Drown by Esther Dalseno

                                                                     Rating Score

acdf9-drown2bcoverIMG_3456 cutout

Author: Esther Dalseno

Pub Date: Oct 31st, 2015

Genre: Retelling, Fantasy, YA

Publisher: 3 little birds books

Summary- 

Seven emotionless princesses
Three ghostly sirens.
A beautiful, malicious witch haunted by memories.
A handsome, self-mutilating prince.

Belonging to a race that is mostly animal with little humanity, a world obsessed with beauty where morality holds no sway, a little mermaid escapes to the ocean’s surface. Discovering music, a magnificent palace of glass and limestone, and a troubled human prince, she is driven by love to consult the elusive sea-witch who secretly dominates the entire species of merfolk. Upon paying an enormous price for her humanity, the little mermaid begins a new life, uncovering secrets of sexuality and the immortal soul. As a deadly virus threatens to contaminate the bloodstreams of the whole merfolk race, the little mermaid must coose between the lives of here people, the man she loves, or herself. 
more.

REVIEW- 

 

I am a HUGE sucker for re-tellings, so obviously I loved it ❤ 

ERRRRRRRRRRRR…I feel like i have so much to say, but nothing wants to come out. okay lets attempt this…I LOVED THIS BOOK! It was my first ever New Adult novel, and I loved it!!!! so yayy! I don’t want to spoil anything . . . I put up a review on goodreads and I said that I loved how there are NO names whatsoever. 
There are names, but not like “Ariel” and stuff, but like . . . 
the little mermaid, the prince, the uncle, the mermaid, the maid, the girl, the sea-witch. you see where I’m going. But at first I thought I would end up hating the book because there were no names, but the no names made it better (for some odd reason). 

BUT! I loved how the POV’s switched around but they were never really on a specific character . . . this is hard because I feel like I just explained it really well in that sentence but then I feel like I need to explain. 

The POV’s were on a character in this case ‘the little mermaid’ then a few seconds later it was the uncles but it was like you never actually were in their POV but just in the same room as them . . .or ocean. 

Characters- I loved the little mermaid and the uncle that’s as far as I will go with them 😉 I didn’t like the prince . . . just sayin. At first I was like, “oh, her prince eric” then I was all, “That jerk!” then “well, maybe . . .” then. . . “NOPE!”. 
yeah, pretty much just like that. 

My favorite character was . . . hmm, the uncle. Besides a few things, but the uncle was nice. and the little mermaids maid, she was my favorite too! 
 
Setting- Well, I have always loved the little mermaid, so I’m guessing you already know the best part about the setting? if not, it’s the OCEAN! I’d say I wish there was more involvement with the ocean but if there were then there wouldn’t be any land in the book XD I love the water, I don’t like pools but I LOVE ocean’s (even though I still have yet to go to one . . . ) 
 
Plot- LOVED IT! It was sad and happy and . . . words just come to me! so I can write this and not feel so stupid! It was a beautiful twist on the little mermaid story, both the Disney version and the original one by Hans Christian Anderson. I don’t want to spoil anything and some people might not care about spoilers . . . but I feel guilty spoiling anything sooooo, the plot was good, and sad. I’ll admit it, I cried after I finished it. but some tears were happy tears! 
 
So I read it in three days, two technically . . . doesn’t matter. It was good, and Esther Dalseno did an amazing, perfect, wonderful job! 
THANK YOU ESTHER FOR WRITING SUCH A BEAUTIFUL STORY! 
I can’t wait for Gabriel and the Swallows! 
 
 
to know more about Esther Dalseno visit her website, here 
and also, check out the interview I did with her a little while ago! ❤
Happy Reading, LUV’s 

 

Leave a Reply

