Rating Score

29483403

IMG_3456 cutout

Author: Elise Kova

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Publisher: Silver Wing Press

 

Summary- Librarian turned sorcerer. Sorcerer turned hero. Hero turned puppet.

The Solaris Empire found victory in the North and, at the cost of her heart and her innocence, Vhalla Yarl has earned her freedom. But the true fight is only beginning as the secret forces that have been lurking in the shadows, tugging at the strings of Vhalla’s fate, finally come to light. Nowhere is safe …more

(A little disclaimer before I begin, If you haven’t read WW don’t read this review there are spoiler’s throughout. I don’t want to ruin anything for anyone!) thank you!

REVIEW-

 

WHY MUST YOU MURDER OUR HEARTS?

Just kidding, I’m actually really pleased with this ending. Besides that princess (former-soon-to-be-wife), you think you can just ask for their you-know-what and when they get it they’ll hand it over? And you- Vhalla Yarl, said YES??!!

I was totally on Aldrik’s side. SAY NO! even if it is the most logical plan, say! no!

Okay, so as you can see I am not a fan of whats-her-face-princess.

Anyways, Before I confuse myself let’s get started!

I have been trying to work on different review writing ways, so today I am going to do this completely different . . . maybe.

So what better way to start this off than to mention my favorite place? 

Of all the Air Awakens’ novels this one is by far my favorite. You get to see more of amazing characters, and you get to have your hellos and goodbyes to characters you thought wouldn’t even be considered to be hurt. *cries* 

But, Water’s Wrath had brought us back to the ‘Crossroads’ yet again. I had loved the crossroads, but the Crossroads weren’t entirely my favorite. That would have to be the garden from AA. I want to talk about the Crossroads though! 

The thing I DO like about the Crossroads is what had happened there. Because So much did happen there in Fire Falling. I also like what happened in WW, she was with new people and she was once again surrounded in — books! Sadly there wasn’t our fire prince to annoy her. Even though I wish he would have been there . . . instead of with her. 

Where do I begin with characters? 

I want to start off with the lady from the beginning that Vhalla had been staying with, I completely forget her name though. I need to write these reviews as I’m reading so I know the names. Gosh. 

And I can’t look because I’m not with the book! TO. Far. Away. 

Okay, so lets just call her the Western lady. Nope we call her Gianna! 

Gianna was a portly woman. To what Vhalla had said. Yes I looked Gianna’s name up. don’t judge me. I liked Gianna because she had that motherly feel to her. Duh, she was a mother and had a kid but she was kind to Vhalla and she didn’t even know her. But she was kind to the Windwalker all the same and I loved Gianna for her kindness, sadly we didn’t see her THAT much. She was only in about 5 chapters? maybe more I’m not totally sure. But, Gianna you will always be in our hearts! 

(Just making this note: it’s 1:00am and I just heard the toaster oven go off. Who the heck is makin food this late at night? These are my HUNGRY HOURS!)

Now, to Vhalla herself, every review I’ve had so far is pretty much the same. Vhalla has grown so much since book one. I still don’t believe she can GROW much more but I know that in the final book CRYSTAL CROWNED that Vhalla will definitely be stronger and more powerful. 

Especially when she get’s her dang powers back. I’ll be getting to that in a minute, I am so upset with that and guess what. I knew he shouldn’t be trusted all along. Wanna know something else? I think he killed my prince.

Aldrik: I was soooo upset with him at the ending of EE. I wanted to punch him so bad, really? really? really? why? why must you be so stupid? can you explain this to me Aldrik? If I was Vhalla I would have slapped you. SLAPPED YOU!

 

I’m sorry Aldrik, I love you dearly but you go and be a jerk to my Vhalla, and I will kill you. But I forgive you now, and if you do that again . . . 

I still love you . . . 

I want to talk about the beloved brother, Baldair. Get your tissues out you know what happens people. 

My Baldair! He was my prince! I have simple book logic, the main guy character (Aldrik in this case) is taken by our Vhalla, so I can’t have Aldrik. He’s taken. Baldair, he isn’t. . . wasn’t. So I take Baldair. BUT I CAN’T NOW! thank you Elise, I did mean what I said at the top now that I think about it. 

Elise, I hope you are happy that you have murdered my heart. 

Baldair was such a wonderful character! he was like Vhalla’s brother! and he even said he thought of her like a sister he never had. I cried so hard when he . . . you know. I can’t say it. I’m seriously crying a bit as I write this. 

Baldair was brave and strong, and I really thought he was gonna make it. I was rooting for him and I just wanted to hug him and tell him to fight. But I also believe a jerk named ‘Victor’ killed him. Why? because he was a traitor and a liar. OMG, it makes sense. Victor OFFERED to cool Baldair down with his magic, he could have done something. And Victor just would have thought “One less Solaris, which would put them all in a grieving stage and THEN would make great opportunity to kill them all”. I really hope that’s right. I want to kill him. Vhalla better kill him good. 

I don’t want to ruin the Baldair section with Victor so here is this, I wish Baldair didn’t go. I wish that it was the princess that got the autumn fever and died. I wish that Baldair was healthy and safe. He was a perfect brother and wonderful friend to Aldrik and Vhalla. HE better not be forgotten by anyone, they shall make a Baldair day. I am. Going in the calendar once I talk to Elise 😉 

Now, to the character I dislike but respect. A little. The princess, Sehra. I don’t like her that much, I mean I hate her. But she only got on my bad list for asking for YOU KNOW WHOSE baby. 

Girl, you leave their baby alone or you’ll be getting slapped too. 

You can take anyone else’s baby, you leave theirs alone! It’s just not fair! You know what? I hope Victor kills her . . . or, she just becomes good friends with them all and let’s them break the deal…? UGH! Why can’t things be easy? 

Wow this is really long, it could just be the gif’s but I’m gonna rush through the rest.

It was nice to see Roan again, even though she wasn’t as happy to see Vhalla. I had predicted that Victor was a liar and he shouldn’t be trusted in my review for Fire Falling. I just knew it. And what was I? correct? I was. 

I am actually pleased to hear that Victor killed a certain king. But I also am kind of sad because, even though I hated the king . . . I think he shouldn’t have been killed . . . ? I am sad Baldairs and Aldrik’s mother was killed also, even though she was a huge jerk to Aldrik. I can’t believe how rude she was to him in that dream/flashback. 

It was lovely to visit the castle again, and see Jax after we had thought he was dead! and to see the beautiful Garden and the tower! OMG! Larel’s message in the bracelet! I cried so hard. Gosh, do I miss Larel. She was my favorite of the girls that Vhalla are friends with. Oh and Tim! I didn’t want to trust her at first but she has proven herself worthy of  thy trust. 

What else? . . . oh, who would have known that Aldrik and Victor were both exposed to the crystals? good thing Aldrik wasn’t the bad one. I’d be rooting for the wrong side! XD 

All in all, this was probably the best in the series. It was amazing. I was on the edge of my seat for most of the book and when I wasn’t I was crying. Or doing both. 

If you are reading this review it most likely means you have read the book because of the spoiler above. So, comment what your favorite thing was! I would love to hear, and also, what did you feel about the death of our beloved prince?

In memory of Prince Baldair Solaris.

LONG LIVE SOLARIS

Leave a Reply

