Review: The Darkest Lie by Pintip Dunn

                                                                    rating score

IMG_3456 cutout

 

Title: The Darkest Lie

Author: Pintip Dunn

Pub Date: June 28th, 2016

Publisher: Kensington Publishing

Genre: YA, Mystery, Contemporary

Synopsis:

“The mother I knew would never do those things.
But maybe I never knew her after all.”

Clothes, jokes, coded messages…Cecilia Brooks and her mom shared everything. At least, CeCe thought they did. Six months ago, her mom killed herself after accusations of having sex with a student, and CeCe’s been the subject of whispers and taunts ever since. Now, at the start of her high school senior year, between dealing with her grieving, distracted father, and the social nightmare that has become her life, CeCe just wants to fly under the radar. Instead, she’s volunteering at the school’s crisis hotline—the same place her mother worked.

As she counsels troubled strangers, CeCe’s lingering suspicions about her mom’s death surface. With the help of Sam, a new student and newspaper intern, she starts to piece together fragmented clues that point to a twisted secret at the heart of her community. Soon, finding the truth isn’t just a matter of restoring her mother’s reputation, it’s about saving lives—including CeCe’s own…

 

ADD TO GOODREADS TBR ←

BUY  ←

And now to the review!

 

REVIEW- 

5 or 5 stars! Seriously this novel was super good and super quick to read! and it was just purely addicting. The last MYSTERY I read was probably goosebumps years ago. You could probably find something with a bit of Mystery that I’v read recently.

Anyways! There’s not much I didn’t like about this story. Umm, there are a few things I’ll totally be bringing up in a highlighted section because well . . .spoilers. But don’t worry that’ll be further down! and it’ll be blue. There’s that blue again!

I’m just going to get to the characters while the names are still a bit fresh in my memory

Characters- CeCe, was a wonderful main character. She went through a HORRIBLE thing (her mother dying) and the way that everyone had thought. Ugh, I would hate to be her. But also want to be her . . . who wouldn’t? But I’m also the weird one who wants to be in the Hunger Games even though I know I’d be the first to die 🙂

Sam, I was team Sam the entire time. And I did fall into a certain someones charm a bit . . . but same was still number 1. Liam was just really close behind. Sam was adorable, I don’t understand his pants still . . . Does he just need knew pants? or does he like those types? this is the real mystery of the story

(WHY DOES SAM WHERE FLOOD-PANTS?)

Then there’s charmer boy, Liam. What do I want to say about him? not much. Not. Much. For now. I was really rooting for you buddy, but Sam won. I’m sorry and I still love you.
Gram and Papa CeCe- see, already forgetting names. Okay, Gram was awesome. I want her as my Grandma. Kinda. XD and her father was also a really good character. I’ve never had a situation like theirs so it’s difficult for me to understand the father’s grief. But he does miss his wife and I feel so bad for him. He’s so clueless at the whole father thing, because his wife did it all and once she left he didn’t know what to do. That doesn’t mean he was a terrible father! I think he was a wonderful father still, but he was just more Depressed? I’m not sure. The Father was more depressed and CeCe was more angry that her mother killed herself. . . yeah. And the other thing with Tommy.

What else? there’s more characters but I’m not gonna get into them 😉

Story Line- Have you ever tried writing a mystery story? I have and it is IMPOSSIBLE. The problem, victims the people that actually did it. It just hurts my brain XD so round of applause to Pintip for actually making this! It is a wondeful story and I can’t wait to read more from you! the story line itself was wonderful. Everything that had happened was perfect. Eveeeen if it wasn’t the happiest . . . or what I wanted. I would have changed the whole beginning so the mom didn’t die. Because she seemed like an amazing mom. And then just EVERYTHING with the coded messages! I need to make coded messages.

 

Spoiler:

Okay, so I was totally convinced that Mr. Willoughby was the one when CeCe followed him. I thought he was the ONE! but he wasn’t and I was actually happy because he seemed like a cool teacher! So then who was left? Mr. Winters. I didn’t think it was him so I was between Justin/Tommy and Liam. Oh and I don’t love Liam like I said up there . . .I just didn’t want to point in any direction that I just stopped rooting for him. 😉 I’m a trickster. Just kidding! or am i?Anyways, after the whole Willoughby thing I started thinking more Liam. Because why would Tommy want to TELL HER THE TRUTH?So yeah, Liam is dead to me. I would have killed him. I mean, it isn’t the RIGHT thing to do. But I could have always said “SELF DEFENSE!”


All in all this novel was phenomenal, literally I was happy with the ending and totally believed that a certain someone did a certain something.

I HIGHLY reccomend this book to YOU. Add it to your TBR, pre order it. Do whatever but PLEASE! just read it. Also, can we swoon over Sam again?

 

About the Author

Pintip Dunn graduated from Harvard University, magna cum laude, with an A.B. in English Literature and Language. She received her J.D. at Yale Law School, where she was an editor of the YALE LAW JOURNAL. She also published an article in the YALE LAW JOURNAL, entitled, “How Judges Overrule: Speech Act Theory and the Doctrine of Stare Decisis,”

Pintip is represented by literary agent Beth Miller of Writers House. She is a 2012 RWA Golden Heart® finalist and a 2014 double-finalist. She is a member of Romance Writers of America, Washington Romance Writers, YARWA, and The Golden Network.
She lives with her husband and children in Maryland. You can learn more about Pintip and her books at http://www.pintipdunn.com.

Author Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

