Summer Luvin’ #5 (FT. Carol Riggs) 

 

Let’s not wait any longer!

So, today is not only a interview with Carol Riggs . . . but I also believe it is the book birthday of BOTTLED. . . ? I hope that’s correct and I’m not just saying this.

 let’s get to know the amazing author, Carol!

About Carol RiggsDisplaying Carol Riggs author photo_head.jpg

Displaying Carol Riggs author photo_head.jpg

Carol Riggs author photo_head

Carol Riggs is an author of YA fiction who lives in the beautiful green state of Oregon, USA. Her debut novel, THE BODY INSTITUTE, released Sept 2015 from Entangled Teen, exploringbody image and identity. Her fantasy YA, BOTTLED, will release from Clean Reads on July 7, 2016, and her sci-fi YA, SAFE ZONE, will release from Entangled Teen in October 2016. She enjoys reading, drawing and painting, writing conferences, walking with her husband, and enjoying music and dance of all kinds. You will usually find her in her writing cave, surrounded by her dragon collection and the characters in her head

Connect with Carol here:

 

INTERVIEW

Question 1- favorite summer activity

Going on long walks, but I like to do that early or late enough in the day when it’s cooler. When it’s hot, I hide in my air-conditioned office and write (which is my true favorite activity, along with reading).

Question 2- a lovely moment you had with a fan or friend?

I love it when people tell me they’ve enjoyed my books! It makes all the work of writing worth it. Especially touching was when a few readers said my debut book, The Body Institute, made them cry in a place or two. Aw!

Question 3- your favorite line you’ve ever written?

Hard question! I have lines I’m fond of because of their impact or imagery or personal amusement factor, which varies from book to book. In Bottled, I like this one when Adeelah is thinking about her new master: I must say, this guy isn’t the swiftest camel in the caravan.

Question 4- when do you get the most writing done?

Sometimes mornings, but when the morning is full of social media or other Life things, afternoon works just as well. I work best when it’s quiet or the rain is pouring down outside.

Question 5- Are you currently working on anything?

I’m working with my publisher, Entangled Teen, to polish up my YA sci-fi that releases in October, SAFE ZONE. I’m also half done writing a new project, a fairy tale retelling—fun!

Question 6- writing by a pool or under a tree?

I’d vote for under a tree; it sounds peaceful, and I’d like to hear the breeze rustling the leaves around for a natural kind of white noise.

Question 7- in 5 words describe your novel!

Genie looking for lost love.

Question 8- would you change anything in your first novel, if given the chance?

The Body Institute was my debut novel in Sept. 2015…I might fiddle with the ending a bit to expand it some more…maybe. For Bottled, at least for now, I’m pleased with the way it is. At some point an author has to walk away and consider something done! I’m more than ready to move onto other projects after a book is published.

Question 9- something others probably don’t know about you?

I know shorthand, which I learned in high school. It’s really cool! and helps me secretly jot down Christmas presents so no one can read what I’ve written, plus take faster notes at writer’s conferences. Each circle or stroke represents a sound; it’s pretty much all phonetic.

Question 10- anything you’d say to your fans? Or anyone who has acquired you novel recently?

I would just say thanks so much for supporting me as an author, taking your valuable time to read the words I’ve poured onto the page—and that I hope you enjoy the story! I’d love for my books to make people feel and think in new ways.

BONUS- what character of yours do you relate to the most?

I’m always some part of my main characters’ personalities, but it’s fun to make them less introverted and more outspoken than I really am. I’m more artistic and right-brained than geeky Morgan Dey in The Body Institute, but I relate to her stubbornness, strength of will despite setbacks, and her loyal love for her family and friends. In BOTTLED, I love how Nathan is kind and focuses on other people, not just himself.

 

Thank you for letting me interview you Carol! I had such a fun time creating these questions and seeing such wonderful answers!

Since Bottled is out, Luvs why not go add it to your carts and read it, I wish I was able to! but sadly I’m broke and spent all my book money 😦

AMAZON | Goodreads | Barnes&Noble

HAPPY READING, LUVs

One thought on “Summer Luvin’ #5 (FT. Carol Riggs) 

Leave a Reply

