Hello Luvs!

Today the lovely author of GIFTED is here! I hope you all enjoy this interview with the wonderful Jessica George!

About Jessica George (J.A. George) 

J.A. George is the author of the four part series, GIFTED – THE HAYVEN SERIES. She spent years of her life reading book after book before sitting on her bed one morning, opening her laptop and typing Chapter One into a Word document. Now, not only does she read book after book, she writes book after book too. Usually with a large bar of chocolate by her side.

Want to know more about the upcoming sequel, The Silver Orb? Follow her blog and twitter for updates.

Blog Twitter Goodreads 

AmazonAmazon UK 

INTERVIEW

Question 1- Favorite summer activity  

 

Exploring food markets, visiting places I’ve not seen before and eating outside with friends. This summer I’m going hiking for the first time with a friend and I’m so excited! Hiking may end up being my favourite summer activity. 

 

Question 2- A lovely moment you had with a fan or friend?  

 

Most lovely fan moments occur online when they tell me how much they loved reading my novel, Gifted. I have so many wonderful moments with friends, but if I had to choose one… The final twilight movie had just come out (don’t judge me! Everyone was into twilight at the time!) and me and about eleven friends left school early to go and watch it! It was during the day so the cinema was pretty much empty and we took up the back rows and snuck in Chinese food, doughnuts, sweets, chocolate, drinks and popcorn. We had so much fun! I’ll always remember that day. 

 

Question 3- Your favorite line you’ve ever written?  

 

‘People are the impossible but most of us don’t see it, and that’s what limits us: the frequent use of the word “impossible”.’ 

 

Question 4- When do you get most writing done?  

 

In the morning is when I’m most productive. For some reason my brain just works better when I’ve literally just gotten out of bed. 

 

Question 5- Are you currently working on anything?  

 

The second book in the Gifted series. I get quite a lot of “When is the next book out?!” which makes me all warm and fuzzy inside, so I’m currently dedicating a lot of time to that. 

 

Question 6- Writing by a pool or under a tree?  

 

Under a tree. I love writing in the shade.

 

Question 7- In 5 words describe your novel! 

 

Ordinary people become extra-ordinary. Wait…that’s four. I don’t know what word to add into that sentence! Okay, just count “extra-ordinary” as two words. 

 

Question 8- Would you change anything in your first novel, if given the chance?  

 

At this moment in time? No! In the first edition of Gifted, I was only concerned about writing a book that would sell, so I ended up putting in tropes and themes I’ve found in popular YA books. I ended up disliking my book by the end of it because it was boring – I’d read it all before. Two years later I decided to give up on the daunting thought of book sales and negative opinions and dramatically redrafted Gifted. The second edition, which is the edition now available, contains probably less than 5% of the first edition! So I’m sure I’ve taken out everything I didn’t like. But you never know, I might read Gifted again and find something I want to change, but it won’t be anything big. 

 

Some readers have told me that the middle is quite slow, but that’s not because I couldn’t think of any action to put in; it’s necessary. Gifted is part of a four-book series and things need to be explained in book one, otherwise you won’t understand a large portion of the other books! 

 

Question 9- Something others probably don’t know about you?  

 

I hated my Creative Writing course at university. So much so, that refusing to attend one of the workshops was the happiest day of that week! It was all to do with the teacher and the way she taught; if you wrote in a certain way, she told you that you were wrong or urged the class to disagree with you. I thought that was just unacceptable because I don’t believe someone can say your writing style or writing topic is wrong! It’s all about subjectivity and I felt that as a teacher of Creative Writing, she should know that better than anyone!

Question 10- Anything you’d say to your fans? Or anyone who has acquired you novel recently?  

 

I hope you enjoy Gifted as much as I enjoyed writing it! 

 

BONUS- what character of yours do you relate to the most?   

 

Probably Ava. Mainly because the first book is written from her point of view. When I finally write from the other’s POV’s, they’ll all seem relatable, I think.

 

 

I hope you all enjoyed this interview with J.A.George! My review for her novel GIFTED will be up soon! in the next couple days at least! I have to edit the draft and then it’ll be ready! 🙂

I love your answers Jessica! thank you so much for letting me interview you!

HAPPY READING, LUVs

 

Leave a Reply

