hello luvs!

not many more authors to go! and for our sixteenth author, I present to you

*drum roll*

MEGAN HASKELL!

thank you for being her, Megan!

About Megan Haskell 

Legend has it, I was born with a book in my hands. When I was a kid, my mom would ground me from reading in order to get me to do my chores. To this day, I can readily ignore the real world in favor of the imaginary one lurking between the pages of my current addiction. My dad — also an avid reader — introduced me to Tolkien in my late elementary years, and I never looked back. I love escaping to worlds where magic and monsters are real, especially stories with kick-butt heroines and dangerously attractive heroes.

Despite my voracious book appetite, I didn’t start creative writing until I was working as a number cruncher in a big accounting firm. With an hour plus commute by train every day, and a demanding left-brain occupation, I needed a mobile creative outlet. A pen and paper are about as mobile as it gets! As the pages began to fill, I quickly moved onto a tiny laptop, and a writer was born. Now I get to create my own fantasies!

I currently live in Southern California with my wonderfully supportive husband, two daughters, and a ridiculously energetic dog.

 

twitter logo facebook-icon pinterest amazon logo

website

INTERVIEW

Question 1- favorite summer activity

Swimming! Almost every afternoon, I take my daughters to the pool for swim lessons and water fun.

 

Question 2- a lovely moment you had with a fan or friend?

A had a friend become one of my biggest fans! She downloaded the book during a free promotion I ran in May, and finished it in about three days. That’s a feat for a mom of two kids, ages four and ten months!! She was so enthusiastic, she joined my mailing list, volunteered to be a beta reader for book 2, convinced other friends and family to buy the novel, and in general has become a huge supporter.

I’ve had other friends and family read and enjoy the book, but this was the first time I felt like I really connected with someone, entertained her and gave her an escape from reality for a little while. It was the reason I started writing in the first place, wanting to give someone else the experience that I get from my favorite authors, and I felt like I finally achieved that goal!

 

Question 3- your favorite line you’ve ever written?

“Palm trees rose high above the cliffs in the distance, absorbing the last dying rays of the sun like pilgrims with arms raised in supplication to their god.”

 

Question 4- when do you get most writing done?

I’m a stay-at-home-mom, so writing time fits in during naps, after bedtime, or whenever the girls are otherwise occupied and contained, like snack time. I have to be flexible in when and how I work. Sometimes that’s at night on the couch, sometimes it’s during naptime at the kitchen table. Basically, if I’m not chasing after a toddler, I’m writing. 🙂

 

Question 5- Are you currently working on anything?

Yes! I’m currently editing Sanyare: The Heir Apparent, which is the second book in my dark fantasy adventure trilogy. The book is set to be published this fall!

 

Question 6- writing by a pool or under a tree?

By a pool, in the shade.

 

Question 7- in 5 words describe your novel!

Adventure, magic, knives…& carnivorous pixies.

 

Question 8- would you change anything in your first novel, if given the chance?

I might change the ending a little. I’ve had a few readers say that it ends too fast, that the last scene feels like an info dump. I’ve thought about expanding it some, but I also don’t want to drag things out, so what I’m seriously considering is combining all three books in the trilogy (once they’re finished) into one continuous epic novel. It would require rewriting the endings of books 1 and 2 into smooth transitions between storylines. I don’t know for sure that will happen, but it’s an idea I’m toying with.

 

Question 9- something others probably don’t know about you?

For one football season, I played alto saxophone in the USC Trojan Marching Band.

 

Question 10- anything you’d say to your fans? Or anyone who has acquired your novel recently?

Stay tuned! Sanyare: The Heir Apparent (Book 2 of The Sanyare Chronicles) is nearly ready, and will be released soon. If you’re interested in getting a sneak peek, maybe even reading an advanced reviewers copy, make sure you sign up for my newsletter at http://www.meganhaskell.com/newsletter-subscription!

 

BONUS- what character of yours do you relate to the most?

This is actually a really tough question. I relate to all of my characters, at least a little, even the villains. They all have a little piece of my life, some thread that ties them to my own history and experiences.

I have to say, though, that besides Rie, I have the most fun writing the pixies. Niinka in particular is a blast. She’s mischievous and snarky, girly and bloodthirsty, and the leader of the swarm. She listens to Rie, but she has her own mind, and her own agenda. And she has wings.

 

I hope you all enjoyed today’s interview with the luvely Megan Haskell!

The next author I will be interviewing is … you guessed it!

ANITA GRACE HOWARD

So be tuned the next couple of days!

HAPPY READING, LUVs

One thought on “Summer Luvin’ #16 (Ft. Megan Haskell)

Leave a Reply

