Rating score

29631300

img_7383

 

Author: Anita Grace Howard

Genre : New Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

Publisher: Golden Orb Press

 

Synopsis:

A lady imprisoned by deafness, an architect imprisoned by his past, and a ghost imprisoned within the petals of a flower – intertwine in this love story that transcends life and death.

For most of her life, nineteen-year-old Juliet Emerline has subsisted – isolated by deafness – making hats in the solitude of her home. Now, she’s at risk to lose her sanctuary to Lord Nicolas Thornton, a twenty-seven-year-old mysterious and eccentric architect with designs on her humble estate. When she secretly witnesses him raging beside a grave, Juliet investigates, finding the name “Hawk” on the headstone and an unusual flower at the base. The moment Juliet touches the petals, a young English nobleman appears in ghostly form, singing a song only her deaf ears can hear. The ghost remembers nothing of his identity or death, other than the one name that haunts his afterlife: Thornton.

To avenge her ghostly companion and save her estate, Juliet pushes aside her fear of society and travels to Lord Thornton’s secluded holiday resort, posing as a hat maker in one of his boutiques. There, she finds herself questioning who to trust: the architect of flesh and bones who can relate to her through romantic gestures, heartfelt notes, and sensual touches … or the specter who serenades her with beautiful songs and ardent words, touching her mind and soul like no other man ever can. As sinister truths behind Lord Thornton’s interest in her estate and his tie to Hawk come to light, Juliet is lured into a web of secrets. But it’s too late for escape, and the tragic love taking seed in her heart will alter her silent world forever.  …more

 

Disclaimer

THERE ARE SOME SPOILERS, read at your own risk.

I am putting this because I don’t want you to read it and then hate me for not warning you. So, Luv, you’ve been warned ❤

P.S. read this book!

 

Review: 

 

now, I am writing this in tears because it did not end as I had hoped it would. But it was a wonderful perfect story nonetheless.

So, this novel at first was odd. I mean, you are in a deaf girls-juliets- mind and you can’t hear a thing. Throughout this novel I thought of how it would be if I was deaf, and as I do think she is a very strong-female character even with this disability–it must be very hard for anyone to be deaf.

They have to read lips, and if your anything like me . . . I can’t read lips for anything. You can say ‘hello how are you’ and I’ll think you’re saying something rude.

anyways, back to the story . . . The concept is amazing and the story-line and how everything was played out. It was truly phenomenal. It’s hard for me to put this in words! I had texted my friend one night and the next day she read it and said “that was intense”.

You instantly fell in love with the characters. Not all of them . . . *cough* the viscount *cough* there were the people you did not like, that one guy . . . enemies of the viscount (AKA Nicolas AKA chaine . . . ).

I personally loved hawk. From beginning to end, there was never a moment where I considered changing the person I liked. I was disappointed a little how the story ended, I wished it had taken a different-impossible-turn. Wait, she was literally talking to a dead man through a flower.

*whispers* nothing is impossible *whispers*

__________

So about halfway through I was starting to get antsy about who she would actually choose in the end, and if there would be any way for my wonderful Hawk to return to his human form . . . instead of his ghostly features. I saw that ‘chaine’ was in the hospital bed place and was freaking out . . . then I read the big BIG plot twist and my heart plummeted down the mine hole and landed by Hawk’s bones.

Intense much?

All the characters were wonderfully written, in my opinion. And Juliet was a strong independent woman, that alone made you love her but then you get to know her story and you fall in love with her character.

Same with Chaine and Nicolas. Even Aunt Bitti. of course I loved the wolf-dog, I don’t know the name of it. I think the only characters you could not like were the gypsy king and his boss-guy-dude. What is HIS NAME? I literally just finished the book.

Let’s talk about the gorgeous magical flower. It was SILVER. and she took it from a strangers grave . . . and then she fell in love with said stranger. And so did I.

Juliet and Hawk, to me were an amazing couple. And normally I’d be really upset with an ending that ended the complete opposite of what I’d hoped for . . . but I’m not sad or mad. I loved the ending. I can’t wait to read more of this beautiful series!

My favorite place in this novel would most likely have to be Juliet’s home. I loved it. The garden-place out back. Her bedroom. The tub scene when she first got the flower. I mean, it’s kinda weird . . . but funny and we get to meet my favorite character!

Hawk. *hawk*  love him *hawk*

you’ll understand that if you read the book

:             )

anyways, Anita Grace Howard is by far one of my favorite authors (on the TOP 5 PEOPLE!) and it was such a different from reading ‘Splintered’ to this!

I have loved everything she has written and have been dying to get my hands on her new-er story ROSEBLOOD. I personally don’t remember ever watching Phantom of the Opera . .  .I remember a few bits and pieces but only like one or two scenes. But I am really looking forward to reading Roseblood.

All in all, I give this novel 5/5 stars. It was beautifully crafted and the characters were wonderful. Anita Grace Howard does it again! something she writes that I can not help but fall in love with.

If you like Fantasy > paranormal > New Adult, then I recommend this to you.

Is it considered NA? or YA . . . I mean . . . NA I think. WHO CARES! either way, it was a wonderful story with a wonderful ending.

HAPPY READING, LUVs

My thoughts are kinda everywhere, but hope you enjoyed the review!

One thought on “Review: The Architect of Song by Anita Grace Howard

Leave a Reply

