Rating Score

img_7383

Author: Rachel E. Carter

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Publisher: Astraea Press

Synopsis:

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice —pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm’s three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage…

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage a …more

 

 

Review:

I had been wanting to read this book for quite some time, and then the author actually gave me e-copies of her books! so that was super exciting!

Related image

But for a while I just had them sitting in my library waiting to be read and finally, I read them! This book get’s a 5/5 stars I’m actually going to be starting book two hopefully after my birthday (Jan 8th) super excited for book 2. Book 1 was kind of ended with a cliff hanger and there’s a certain character I want to read more about!

Let’s talk about Ryiah, she was a strong female character and Rachel E. Carters magic system was really interesting! I mean, Ryiah’s main source of power was when she was physically hurt. She can use her magic without being stabbed or hurt but it’s a lot more stronger and chaotic when she is stabbed. I loved how Ryiah had a temper and her brother was kind of a wimp but was totally a ladies man.

Alex is a great brother, I loved his character and I hope he is with ‘someone’ in book 2. Alex was the smarter twin and Ryiah was the twin that liked to fight people. Two very opposite twins . . . but they were amazing.

Image result for smart gif

Image result for fighting gif

And I LOVVVED Ella. She was such an amazing friend, and her little debacle with the–you know–that was sad. But you know, something good did come out of it. . .

Let’s not forget the Non-heir, Darren. He was a huge pain at times and I at first wished that Ry would set him on fire. Buuuut, I have a thing for stupid princes . . . so I ended up loving Darren even though at times someone could set him on fire and I wouldn’t care.

I lied. I would care.

Image result for I lied gif

There are so many more characters I could mention but those are the MAIN characters that I love and adore. I loved Ry’s and Darren’s relationship it was so real how they literally hated each other but helped each other. And please someone kill Priscilla (I feel like the name is wrong).

Anyways everything about this novel was amazing. I loved Rachel E. Carters writing and the entire academy. I liked the barracks and then the library *drools* that hidden study at the top. No one would ever find me, I would live up there. Okay some people can find me. Like Ella, Alex, Ry, Darren, and Clay because they are pretty cool. But if Priscilla did . . . I would burn her alive. *realizes that was a bit intense* *backs away into the shadows of my hidden study*

Image result for backs away into shadows gif

all in all this novel was awesome with such wonderfully built characters and I can’t wait to write a review for book 2! the apprentice . . . I think is book two, I’m not quite sure.

HAPPY READING, LUVs 

Leave a Reply

