Rating Score:

29749200

 

img_7010

Author: Fred Holmes

Genre: Fantasy, Middle-grade, YA

Synopsis: 

Fourteen-year-old Hannah Bradbury loved

her father so much that she worried about him constantly. After all, he was a photographer who traveled to the most dangerous places in the world.

To allay her fears, each time he came home he brought her silly gifts, each one with supposed magical powers: the Seal of Solomon, the Ring of Gyges, even Aladdin’s Lamp. It was that lamp …more

 

Review:

It is a cute, action-packed story with a wonderful storyline and a Genie!

I received an e-copy of this novel from the author in exchange for an honest review, and that is exactly what’s happening right now!

As you can tell from above, I rated it 4/5 stars. Nothing bad! no worries! but I’ll get to it later. For now I want to start with, this novel is based for middle-grade ages and lower young adult I suppose. Anyways, I was blown away by the story.

Lately, I have had this whole GENIE obsession, I don’t know where it came from but I love all the Disney movies and Aladdin is one of my favorites. And my ALL TIME FAVORITE ACTOR was the GENIE (AKA Robin Williams). Okay you get it, I have an obsession for Genies.

While there was a Genie and the LAMP–sorry ugly teapot ;)– in this story. The lamp was seen and used more than the Genie actually. I wish there was more scenes with the Genie but that wasn’t a big deal.

May we start in the beginning? Hannah’s father is a photographer that goes to dangerous places to photograph different things. And while he was away for one of these, he sadly died. And Hannah was close to her father so obviously the fourteen your old girl didn’t take it well.

Her father had brought her gifts every time he came home and he had given her a magic lamp (AKA the ugly teapot) but she didn’t buy it. So it sat in her closet, until after her fathers funeral her dog Griff told her to use it. So she did.

I don’t want to give any other MAJOR details out. But it was a cute novel that was a pretty quick read. I read it in a couple days, after holding off for a couple months.

oops.

it was a really nice story about a girl that is dealing with the loss of her father.

And now, the only reason I am giving it  4/5 stars . . . her dog.

There’s multiple things about her dog I didn’t particularly like, one being that he talks. I have read books where animals talked before, I don’t know what made me not like that part. But I didn’t like it.

But really, the main reason was because the . . . ending. I don’t want to spoil anything. So I won’t be saying it! but the ending was sad and I was hoping everything was going to end . . . differently. But APPARENTLY, not.

I think this is going to either be a series or a duology. It says (The Ugly Teapot: Book One: Hannah) so I’m guessing multiple. HAHA, and considering the ending . . . it would make sense.

To wrap all that up! yes I did enjoy reading this novel. It was a quick(if I actually read it all at once XD) read, adventure galore and of course a genie 😉

I WOULD recommend this to people in Middle School. I enjoyed it, and I’m not a middle grade student, but it seems to be directed more towards a middle grade student or a student just entering high school. BUT! by all means, read it because it was a really sweet story and if I get the chance I’m looking forward to reading more of Fred Holmes!

I hope you all liked this review of ‘The Ugly Teapot’. I know I suck at reviews but bare with me, luv.

Related image

HAPPY READING, LUVs

Leave a Reply

