Hello Luvs!

Today I am interviewing Sherry Ficklin, if you missed yesterdays interview you can go check it out right HERE!

ABOUT THE AUTHORS

Sherry is a full-time writer from Colorado and the author of over a dozen novels for teens and young adults including the best-selling Stolen Empire series. She can often be found browsing her local bookstore with a large white hot chocolate in one hand and a towering stack of books in the other. That is, unless she’s on deadline at which time she, like the Loch Ness monster, is only seen in blurry photographs.
Sherry also writes Romantic Fiction under the pen name S.J. Noble and appears as a guest speaker at several conventions annually. You can find her at her official website, http://www.sherryficklin.com, or stalk her on her Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/sherry.ficklin. She is represented by Nadia Cornier of Firebrand Literary.

Interview


 

1- how long have you been writing?

I’ve been at it about 10 years now. Well, I’ve been publishing for close to that, I’ve been writing my whole life.

 

2- Is there a certain genre you’d like to get into?

I am dreaming of doing YA horror. Truly, something like SCREAM. I’m sort of bouncing ideas around in my head. But yeah, I think that’s where I will go next. (that sound was my agent banging her head against her keyboard, FYI)

 

3- Who designed your (latest) book cover?

Marya over at Strong Image Editing. She is amazing and I LOVE working with her. She did all the queen covers and she just did the cover for CANARY CLUB, which will reveal 4/4. It’s breathtaking.

 

4- Where do your ideas come from?

Anywhere and everywhere. Literally anything can spark an idea. Anything.

 

5- If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing?

I always imagined I’d be working with animals, so maybe that. But more likely, I’d be in some kind of asylum. I get crazy when I haven’t written anything for a while. I’m talking total mental breakdown.

 

6- Do you ever experience writers block? If so how do you get over it?

Sometimes, and I can usually push through it, but when it gets bad I step away and look for ways to re-inspire myself. Traveling helps.

 

7- How did you come up with your title?

CANARY CLUB was the title since day one. It’s a nod to the Stork Club, which was a really well known speakeasy/club at the time.

 

8- what is your perfect writing spot?

My office, where I’m surrounded by all my inspirations. I collect things that inspire me and keep me connected to the books/characters I’m writing.

 

9- What do you do in your free time?

What is this free time you speak of? lol. I love going to movies, playing outdoors in my yard, chilling with my family. Simple stuff.

 

10-Anything you’d like to add?

I fell like I’ve been really lucky to not just work with a fabulous publishing team over at CTP, but I also have some of the best readers in the world, so I guess I’d just like to say thank YOU. Without the readers, none of this is possible.

 

FUN

11- Do you write friends, family, or even strangers you met into your novels?

Yes, all the time. Some day Peyton Manning is going to sue me, I can just feel it, lol. But yes, my family a lot. And all my friends end up here and there. I’m not even sorry. 🙂

 

12- If you were a superhero what would your name be?

Pessimist Girl, able to leap to the worst case scenario at the speed of light.

 


 

XD

AMAZING ANSWERS!

I can’t wait to see the cover for the CANARY CLUB!

Thank you so much Sherry for coming on my blog today!

Hope you all loved this interview and her AMAZING answers. Tomorrow I am interviewing,

LISA BROWN ROBERTS!

HAPPY READING, LUVs

 

Leave a Reply

