Hello Luvs!

Today I am interviewing Robin Reul! How exciting! if you didn’t know, I ADORE her ❤ and can’t wait for anything else she writes!

I did a review a while back for MY KIND OF CRAZY, if you’d like to check that out . . . (CLICK ME) 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Robin Reul has been writing since she was in early elementary school, when she used to make her own book club flyers for her classmates and then pen them original stories. At thirteen, she had her first meeting with a major publisher, and the dream of someday being a published author firmly took hold.

As the daughter of a film producer, she spent her ….more

 

 

 

Amazon  My Kind Crazy

INTERVIEW


 

1- How long have you been writing?

I wrote my first story when I was three years old. It was called “The Dog And The Cat Who Were Friends.” I dictated the words to my mother and I drew the pictures. I spent much of my elementary school years writing short little stories with illustrations. I started writing full length novels when I was nine and had my first meeting with a major publisher at thirteen, though it would still be many years before I would be published. 🙂

 

2) Is there a certain genre you’d like to get into?

I would actually love to move towards writing adult fiction. While I love writing for teens, there are definitely story ideas I would love to explore and play with that fall outside that realm.

 

3) Who designed your (latest) book cover?

My publisher, Sourcebooks, has an incredible in-house team of designers who really spend a lot of time with each book working to make sure they really get the feeling of the book to translate perfectly on to the cover. Nicole Komasinski designed the cover of MY KIND OF CRAZY, and I think she really nailed it! I’m not sure if she will be the designer on my next book as well – we are’t quite at that stage – but in general, Sourcebooks does such an amazing job with their covers that I’m sure it will be no less eye-catching!

 

4) Where do your ideas come from?

My ideas come from a mix of things, truly. A lot comes from my life – people I’ve met, situations I’ve been in. Sometimes it’s inspired by a movie or a story I’ve read online or something that’s happened with one of my kids. Sometimes a scene or a character shows up in my head and it snowballs into a story.

5) If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing?

I’ve always been passionate about telling stories, so if I couldn’t write them, I would definitely still want to be working creatively in some fashion that helps bring them into the world, whether that be as an editor at a publishing house, or working in development for a film or television production company. Prior to becoming a writer full-time, I spent many years working in film and television doing just that, and I absolutely loved it.

6) Do you ever experience writer’s block? If so, how do you get over it?

All. The. Time. I find several things help me in this situation. The first is to read other books that are similar to what I am writing and watch movies or TV in the same vein because this can help spark ideas. The other is to allow myself the freedom to write out of sequence. Sometimes it’s helpful to write a scene that comes much later because I can see how I want that to go and work backwards rather than force myself to be linear with my process and stay stuck. The fact that I’m still writing words on the page and keeping that forward momentum going is important because I’m still keeping my finger on the pulse of my story.

 

7) How did you come up with your title?

MY KIND OF CRAZY is actually the third title of this book. Originally it was called “HANK KIRBY” but that sounded like a middle grade novel and told the reader absolutely nothing about what they could expect to find between the pages. When I sold the book, it was called “REBEL WITHOUT A CLUE” but the publisher worried that teens today might not get the “Rebel Without A Cause” reference and also, Hank wasn’t really so much a “rebel.” My editor asked me to come up with a list of potential alternate titles and we brainstormed them together. None of them really fit. Then in the course of the conversation I made some offhand comment about how Peyton was just Hank’s kind of crazy and my editor said she tells her husband he’s her kind of crazy all the time. Then I said, “What about that? MY KIND OF CRAZY?” She loved it and so did the rest of the folks at Sourcebooks and so it stuck.

 

8) What is your perfect writing spot?

I used to love to write at my dining room table because it’s in an area of my house with the best light and has these big windows that look out on the street and the trees. One Christmas morning I woke up to discover my dining room table was gone and my family had replaced it with a beautiful oak desk just for me and my dining area officially became my writing nook. I still have no idea how they managed to pull that off. I write best in solitude and total quiet, so I’m not one who you will readily find with earbuds in on my laptop at the local Starbucks. I like something peaceful to look at and quiet.

 

9) What do you do in your free time?
I love reading, wandering through great bookstores and watching movies or binge watching a great TV series. I love traveling and spending time with my family, creating adventures where we can. I enjoy spending time with good friends. My daughter is also in marching band and drumline and I love volunteering at her competitions and getting involved in the program. My life is pretty family/friend-centric.

 

10) Anything you’d like to add?
Ummm….I don’t know how to ride a bike or ski and I wouldn’t eat escargot if you paid me a million dollars?

FUN

11) Do you write friends, family or even strangers you’ve met into your novels?

Yep. Everyone who comes into my orbit is potential subject matter and anything they say or do can end up in a novel. 😉 Of course, I change names to protect the not-so-innocent.

 

12) If you were a superhero, what would your name be?
JavaGirl

 

 


 

*APPLAUSE*

I loved those answers . . . especially ten because it was just random and I love random XD

plus I don’t know what escargot is (???) so . . . gotta look into that.

Anyways, THANK YOU ROBIN for letting me interview you today I hope you had fun answering my weird questions. And I guess for now on I should call all the authors by their super hero names . . . so thank you JavaGirl for being here today 😉 lol

And luvs, I hope you enjoyed this interview, comment your favorite answer!

HAPPY READING, LUVs

Leave a Reply

