Hello Luvs!

Today I am interviewing the AMAZING Emily R King!

I am super excited because I’ve been wanting to read her novel “The Hundredth Queen” which I have an E-copy I received from Netgalley, but I have yet to start it! Hopefully this month after I finish my current reads!

if you’d like to see yesterday’s interview with AMBER DUELL click her name <<<<

Anyways, lets get to know Emily R King!

ABOUT EMILY R KING

Emily R. King Smaller

Emily R. King is a reader of everything and a writer of fantasy. Born in Canada and raised in the USA, she has perfected the use of โ€œehโ€ and โ€œyโ€™allโ€ and uses both interchangeably. Shark advocate, consumer of gummy bears, and islander at heart, Emilyโ€™s greatest interests are her four children. Sheโ€™s a member of the Society of Childrenโ€™s Book Writers and Illustrators and an active participant in her local writersโ€™ community. She lives in Northern Utah with her family and their cantankerous cat.

The Hundredth Queen Buy-Links

AMAZON

TARGET

BARNES & NOBLE

pinterestย ย instagram-logoย ย facebook-iconย ย twitter logo

INTERVIEW


 

1- How long have you been writing?ย 

 

Itโ€™s been about eight years since I began writing with the intent to be published. I dabbled off and on during the five years prior to that.

2- Is there a certain genre you’d like to get into?ย 

 

I think it would be fun to write adult contemporary romance. My very favorite author for years was Jude Deveraux.

3- Who designed your (latest) book cover?

 

The designer who did the cover for The Hundredth Queen is M.S. Corely, and heโ€™s fantastic!

4- Where do your ideas come from?ย 

 

Everywhere! Books, movies, people, the newsโ€”I love getting inspiration.

5-ย If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing?ย 

 

Growing up, I thought I would become a marine biologist and research sharks. Iโ€™m fascinated by them, and even swam with Galapagos sharks when I visited Hawaii.

6- Do you ever experience writers block? If so how do you get over it?

 

Writerโ€™s block for me means Iโ€™ve written myself into a corner, so I backtrack and find where I went astray. I treat plotting like traveling. You come upon a fork in the road, and perhaps you choose the wrong way. When you realize youโ€™re on the wrong path, you retrace your steps and go down the right road, yes? Same with plotting.

7- How did you come up with your title?

 

The title for The Hundredth Queen came to me immediately, as did the main character, Kalinda. This was a rare occurrence. Usually the title comes after I start drafting or even once Iโ€™ve finished the manuscript.

8- What is your perfect writing spot?

 

My office. I like routine, and itโ€™s quiet. I have four kids, so having a place of my own to work is imperative.

9- What do you do in your free time?

 

I like to read. I also bake a lot and have several of my favorite recipes memorized. My homemade brownie bites are yummy.

10- Anything you’d like to add?

 

Only that Iโ€™m grateful to you for having me on your blog!ย 

FUN

11- Do you write friends, family, or even strangers you met into your novels?

 

Iโ€™ve taken inspiration from people, but just bits and pieces. Maybe I see someone make a certain gesture, or they have a phrase they use a lot. I jot down those character ticks in a notebook and use them about half the time.

12- If you were a superhero what would your name be?

Hmmโ€ฆI love Batman. Can I be Bruce Wayneโ€™s wife instead? Or Catwoman! I adored her when I was younger.

 


 

โค so happy to have you on my blog! thank you for agreeing Emily! Your answers are lovely, and yes you can totally be Bruce Waynes wife or catwoman! XD

I hope you all enjoyed today’s interview, comment your favorite question/answer! or comment ย your own answer!

Tomorrow’s author is . . . . CHEYENNE YOUNG!

HAPPY READING, LUVs

3 thoughts on “MFBL Fest Interview: Emily R King

Leave a Reply

