Hello Luvs!

Welcome to today’s interview!

It is the 13th interview! How exciting!

To see the 12 other author’s I’ve interviewed so far, go check out the #MFBLFest Page!

(here)

ABOUT CHEYANNE YOUNG

CheyanneYoung1Square.jpg

Cheyanne Young is a native Texan with a fear of cold weather and a coffee addiction that probably needs an intervention. She loves books, sarcasm, and collecting nail polish. After nearly a decade of working in engineering, Cheyanne now writes books for young adults and is the author of the City of Legends Trilogy. She doesn’t miss a cubicle one bit.

Cheyanne lives near the beach with her daughter and husband, one spoiled rotten puppy, and a cat that is most likely plotting to take over the world.

WEBSITE

Cheyanne’s YA books: https://cheyanneyoung.com/young-adult-standalone-novels/

Cheyanne’s YA superhero series: https://cheyanneyoung.com/city-of-legends/

twitter logo  instagram-logo

INTERVIEW


1-     how long have you been writing? 

I used to write stories in fourth grade that were largely rip-offs of the Babysitter’s Club books I was reading at the time. Then for a long time, I focused on just reading because I adored books so much. It wasn’t until my early twenties (I’m 31 now) that I thought maybe I could write my own story. I made sure to keep all Babysitter’s Club references out of it. J In all, I’ve been making a serious effort at writing novels for about ten years. The time flies though, it doesn’t feel like it’s been nearly that long.

2- Is there a certain genre you’d like to get into? 


I’m pretty much in love with YA contemporary and I see myself writing that forever and ever. However, there’s one book idea that’s been brewing in my head for years and it’s very clearly a YA thriller. The reason I haven’t written it yet? I’m scared to write thrillers! But maybe someday.

3- Who designed your (latest) book cover? 


My latest book cover is for The Breakup Support Group, which was designed by Danielle Doolittle at DoElle Designs with help from my publisher. I’m totally in love with it! She did such a great job!

4- Where do your ideas come from? 


Everywhere! A fleeting thought, a stranger’s T-shirt at the mall, overhearing someone talking. It always starts with a tiny spark of inspiration that hits me out of nowhere. The key is taking that spark and letting it light up your mind. If I do, the characters will come to me and the story will form. Sometimes I feel that spark and there’s just no time, so I let it go. Hopefully it finds someone else.

5- If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing? 


Not following my dreams, that’s for sure. Before I took the plunge to write full time, I worked in engineering for 9 years. It was hell and I hated every second of corporate life. I fear that if I weren’t a writer, I’d probably be back there stuck in a cubicle. Following your dream is scary and hard and stressful, but it’s so much better than doing the alternative.

6- Do you ever experience writers block? If so how do you get over it? 


Nope. I have no idea what “writers block” is supposed to be because I am always itching to get words down. The worst things I go through are having no time to write. Migraines, errands, obligations—these things block me from having time to write occasionally, and that’s the worst because my mind is always ON, always ready to write.

7- How did you come up with your title? 


Titles are the hardest! The good thing is that your agent and publisher can help you make them better if you just totally suck at naming books like I do. For my teen superhero series, I originally named them: Powered, Overpowered, and Empowered. My editor at Alloy Entertainment came up with much better ones: City of Legends, The Valiant, and Empire Rising.

With The Breakup Support Group, I came up with that title and we got to keep it in publishing, which was great!

 

For my newest book deal, I queried my agent with the title Sasha Cade’s Deathwish. My agent and I changed it to The Last Wish of Sasha Cade, and now that it’s found a publisher home, we might change it again! That’s fine with me though, I want the best title for the book.

8- what is your perfect writing spot?


I used to be a write-on-the-couch type, but after becoming a full time writer 2 years ago, it became a priority to write as efficiently as possible. You’ll often see me posting about it on Instagram: My FitDesk 2.0! It’s a stationary bike with a laptop desk built into it so I can write while pedaling and getting exercise. I don’t pedal very fast, but I’ve found that being focused on the work and being stuck on the bike helps me get so much more written. It is MAGICAL how well you can focus on that thing! I only use it for drafting though…for edits, I use my normal desk because I’ll have papers spread out all over the place.

9- What do you do in your free time? 


I collect nail polish (the glitterier the better), try out coffee shops, read lots of books, keep up with a collection of TV shows on Hulu, hang out with my family, take the dog on walks, and spend a lot of time complaining about how I wish I was writing.

10-Anything you’d like to add? 


Thank you for including me in your April feature!

FUN

11- Do you write friends, family, or even strangers you met into your novels? 


Yes… but they are heavily altered from their real world selves. I’ve taken quirks, hobbies, personalities from people I know in real life, but they’re changed up so much you’d never know it. Strangers have certainly made it into books with whatever uniqueness they had that inspired me to remember it and put it in a book. This could be a good or bad thing for them.

 

12- If you were a superhero what would your name be?


Tenacious C!


Thank you Cheyanne for letting me interview you!

I saw on twitter “the Last Wish of Sasha Cade” was the official title! I can’t wait to read it! It sounds SUPER interesting from what I’ve read on twitter! ❤

I hope you all enjoyed this lovely interview with Cheyanne young author of

The Breakup Support Group 

City of Legends

The Valiant 

Empire Rising

the Last Wish of Sasha Cade

Understudy 

+more

TOMORROW’S AUTHOR: M. C. FRANK

HAPPY READING, LUVs

Leave a Reply

