Hello Luvs!

Welcome to the 16th interview!

Hope you all have a wonderful Easter and ate a lot of food!

Anyways, Today’s author is Leslie Hauser

She wrote

CHASING EVELINE

Click the image to go straight to amazon!

Displaying Chasing Eveline_Hauser.jpg

ABOUT LESLIE HAUSER

LHauser author picture_centeredI am a YA writer and middle school teacher. I have a B.A. in English from UCLA and a Master’s degree in Educational Administration. I was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, and currently reside in Los Angeles, California, with my dog Mr. Darcy

When I’m not living in fictional worlds inside my head, I run all sort of distances, torture my body at CrossFit, and DVR entirely too many television shows. I dream of one day returning to the Midwest to live on a farm. Or perhaps owning a cookie delivery service.

My debut YA novel CHASING EVELINE releases 2017 from Pen Name Publishing.

Website

B&N 

Kobo

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa twitter logo  goodreads-logo

INTERVIEW


1. How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing since the third grade when I penned my award-winning story “Wild Strawberries” about a talking strawberry that takes a young girl on a wild adventure. It was published on the front page of the school gazette. Haha. But in all honesty, I think that was the moment when I realized I had stories to tell and that I loved telling them. (It was also the moment I learned I would never be an artist. My strawberry graphic was not so fabulous.)

2. Is there a certain genre you’d like to get into?

I write YA contemporary, and I think that’s going to be my only home. Maybe someday—if I grow up—I might dabble in women’s fiction. I love stories that feel like real life.

3. Who designed your book cover?

The cover for Chasing Eveline was designed by Dionne Abouelela at Pen Name Publishing. I might be biased, but I think it’s gorgeous. It captures perfectly the hopeful, dreamy feeling of the novel. It took us a few rounds to get there, but when I saw this cover, I gasped. Audibly. I knew it was the one.

4. Where do your ideas come from?

Most of my ideas come from my life. Small moments, my own hopes and desires, and events in my past are the seeds for most of my story ideas. From there, I use my creativity to grow them into something new.

5. If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing?

In reality, I guess I’d be a teacher (as I am now) with a whole lot more time to binge-watch Netflix. But if this is a fantasy question, I have this dream of being a musician. I feel so electric and inspired when I watch musicians perform live. I’d love to be up on that stage lost in a song.

6. Do you ever experience writer’s block? If so, how do you get over it?

I’m not sure if it’s writer’s block or writer’s fright. Sometimes the thought of starting a new project seems overwhelming. I start to wonder, How did I ever do this before? So that’s when I’ll clean, walk Mr. Darcy (my dog!) for a second time, watch infomercials on tv… I’ll do just about anything to avoid sitting down to type that first sentence. One thing that has helped me is the Kitchen Timer Method. I read about it in Lauren Graham’s book Talking as Fast as I Can. She got the idea from screenwriter Don Roos. The idea is that you set an appointment to write and the only requirement is that you keep the appointment and sit for the scheduled amount of time. You don’t even have to write! You can jot down ideas or even stare at your screen. When you satisfy your commitment, it lowers anxiety and resistance. It’s really helped me tackle my latest project little by little.

7. How did you come up with your title?

Chasing Eveline was originally titled The Mary Kennedys. This title originated from a joke with my friend Katie about a coworker (named Mary—not Kennedy) who almost ran us over in a Starbucks parking lot. We named our Wii RockBand group after her, and it was one of the seeds out of which the idea for Chasing Eveline grew. When I realized Mary Kennedy was a real Irish TV personality, I needed to change the title. After trying zillions of Irish names mixed with other ideas, somehow Chasing Eveline was born. The real truth is I can’t even remember how I thought of this name. It somehow came to me, and I loved it.

8. What is your perfect writing spot?

My perfect writing spot would be one of those places in the Corona beer ads. Or it might be one of the offices in a Pottery Barn catalog. But in real life, my perfect writing spot is wherever I am when inspiration hits: the kitchen table, the couch, outside on the patio…

9. What do you do in your free time?

I spend a lot of my time with Mr. Darcy. He’s so cute, it’s difficult not to spoil him. And he was abandoned twice at the shelter, so he’s an anxious little guy! I also love to read, listen to music, and spend time with friends and family. And when I’m not doing any of that, there’s lots of running—of all distances—and CrossFit.

Displaying IMG_1718.JPG

11. Do you write friends, family, or even strangers you met into your novels?

No friends or family in my novels, though sometimes I use their names as a small shout-out. But random people I encounter definitely can find their way into my stories.

12. If you were a superhero, what would your name be?

I think I’d be Million Dollar Girl. I have this dream of winning the lottery—not for the mansion or fancy car, but so I can hire someone to cook healthy meals for me. I hate cooking with every fiber of my being, and all I want in this world is for someone to make all my meals for me. So if I could be a superhero, that’s what I’d do for myself and anyone else in the world who feels the same way!

 


I have mostly one thing to say and that dog is friggin’ cute how can someone abandon that adorable fluffy BALL OF CUTENESS! I WANT MR.DARCY!

I hate cooking! For lunches if it involved me actually cooking I’ll go hungry . . . I can cook Ramen noodles. That’s about it XD

Thank you SO much for letting me interview you today! Your answers ARE WONDERFUL and Mr. Darcy is SUCH A CUTIE!

I hope you all enjoyed this interview with Leslie Hauser and her puppy Mr. Darcy!

Don’t miss tomorrow’s author!

CHESS DESALLS 

HAPPY READING, LUVs

2 thoughts on “MFBL Fest Interview: Leslie Hauser

Leave a Reply

