Hello Luvs!

It’s crazy to think there are only 10 more authors left!

I am Super EXCITED for all the author’s that I will be interviewing the rest of the month and I hope you all love the interviews as much as I loved asking them! 😉

Anyways, today’s lovely author is Chess Desalls author of Travel Glasses (The Call to Search Everywhen) click the title of the series to go to her page about the series!

ABOUT CHESS DESALLS 

Chess Desalls is the author of the YA time travel series, The Call to Search Everywhen. She’s a longtime reader of fantasy and sci-fi novels, particularly classics and young adult fiction. Her nonfiction writing has led to academic and industry publications. She’s also a contributing editor for her local writing club’s monthly newsletter. The California Writers Club, South Bay branch, has awarded two of Chess’ stories first place for best short fiction. When she’s not reading or writing, she enjoys traveling and trying to stay in tune on her flute.

TRAVEL GLASS SERIES ON AMAZON

BEACON NOVELLA 

WEBSITE

NEWSLETTER

BLOG

googleplus.jpg  amazon logo  twitter logo  facebook-icon  goodreads-logo  pinterest  000tumblr  aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

INTERVIEW


 

1- How long have you been writing? 

I’ve been writing all my work life. I didn’t start writing fiction until 2009, so I’ll say about eight years.

2- Is there a certain genre you’d like to get into? 

Right now I’m enjoying writing science fiction and fantasy for YA readers. I’d like to complete a Middle Grade novel I started and write more children’s stories.

3- Who designed your (latest) book cover? 

Paper and Sage Design. I love their work!

4- Where do your ideas come from? 

Sometimes a spark of a story idea or a title comes to mind. I’ve also built stories based on anthology themes.

5- If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing? 

I work in a completely different industry in addition to writing and publishing fiction. I’d still be writing nonfiction, and I imagine I’d create stories that I’d still share some day.

6- Do you ever experience writers block? If so how do you get over it? 

Sometimes, especially if a story is getting complicated or I’m at a stage where I need to flesh out scenes or transitions within the story that I’m not as excited about. I’m driven by deadlines, so when I have a due date, it’s easier for me to push through. Otherwise, I let the story stew for a while and work on something else. It helps to come back to the piece later and read it with fresh eyes.

7- How did you come up with your title? 

The title for Travel Glasses and the idea of time traveling glasses came to mind at a time when I was practicing short stories. I decided on most of my other titles at different stages of writing. I also keep a list of titles I’ve come up with that are fun to look at now and then.

8- What is your perfect writing spot?

I love working at cafes and coffee shops with the bubble of background noise. At home, I have an office and a smaller, brighter room that I use as a writing nook. But I find that having a cup of coffee and being around other people gets me in a more creative mindset.

9- What do you do in your free time? 

I read, bowl, knit, and travel. I also love listening to audio books while crafting and cooking.

10-Anything you’d like to add? 

I’m excited for MFBL Fest. Thank you for inviting me!

FUN

11- Do you write friends, family, or even strangers you met into your novels? 

Not specifically, no. I think what happens to me is that a mix of character traits from people I’ve met, people I’ve observed or heard about, my own self, and my imagination mix and find their way into characters subconsciously until a character becomes his or own person. I hope that makes sense. In one way or another we’re writing about life. Writing, like music and other art forms, are representations and expressions of life with various levels of added imagination.

12- If you were a superhero what would your name be?

What a great question! I honestly don’t know. I’m not much taller than five feet, so I’m wondering whether I’d be more of a sidekick. ;o)

 


 

WONDERFUL ANSWERS!!!!

I am only 5, 4″ (maybe 3) so I am pretty short too, and I live with a bunch of people who are almost 6 feet (and a couple are!)! Luckily I grew taller than my mother who is only 5feet! So I’m not the SHORTEST person in my house XD
But short people need spotlight too! XD

Thank you Chess for letting me interview you today! I loveddddd your answers and added your books to my TBR pile! I want to read them *heart emoji’s*

Hope you enjoyed today’s Interview, Luvs, go check out all the links above to connect with Chess Desalls!

TOMORROW’S AUTHOR: KIM SAVAGE 

HAPPY READING, LUVs

Leave a Reply

