Hello Luvs!

If you would like to see past interviews from this month go to the #MFBLFest Page!

Today’s author is Kim Savage!

She wrote:

BEAUTIFUL BROKEN GIRLS 
29102879
 “a gut punch that lingers. haunting and mesmerizing.”
—Kirkus
AFTER THE WOODS 
17998474
 “a riveting exploration of what it’s like when the enemy is much closer than you suspect.”  
—Kirkus 

IN HER SKIN 

RELEASES 3.27.18 !!!!

*dies on the inside* 

ABOUT KIM SAVAGE! 

Kim Sava0005 7.30.40 PM 7.30.40 PM (2)ge is the author of the critically acclaimed After the Woods. A former reporter who received her Master’s degree with honors in Journalism from Northeastern University, Kim lives north of Boston near the real Middlesex Fells Reservation of After the Woods, and she grew up near a quarry town a lot like the Bismuth of Beautiful Broken Girls, in stores Feb. 21. Kim’s third novel with FSG, In Her Skin (2018), is based in Boston’s Back Bay, where she has never lived.

Kim and her husband have three children, each of whom beg to appear in her books. They shouldn’t.

WEBSITE

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa  000tumblr  pinterest  goodreads-logo  twitter logo  facebook-icon

INTERVIEW


1- How long have you been writing? 

Since I could read. I wrote books from around the age of four, with construction paper covers and staples up the sides.

2- Is there a certain genre you’d like to get into?

Probably because I’m trained as a journalist, I love narrative nonfiction. Especially true crime with a mystical or gothic element.

3- Who designed your (latest) book cover?

Elizabeth Clark, the art director at Macmillan, designed both After the Woods and Beautiful Broken Girls. She’s designing In Her Skin, too, which I’ll (and you’ll!) get to see soon. I can’t wait to see what she comes up with. Beth straddles the line between beautiful and eerie like no one else.

4- Where do your ideas come from?

I always start my novels with an idea that intrigues me. The characters become the incarnation of that idea. In the case of Beautiful Broken Girls, it was the power of touch.

5- If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing?

A working actor. Writing and acting are the only two things I ever really wanted to do. I don’t have a real singing voice, so: yeah.

6- Do you ever experience writers block?

Not writer’s block exactly, but I’m in trouble if I wait too many days between writing. Like right now.

If so how do you get over it?

I hole up. Preferably in another state (we have a place in Vermont where I get my best work done).

7- How did you come up with your title?

Beautiful Broken Girls was my editor, Janine O’Malley’s, idea.

8- What is your perfect writing spot?

Partly outdoors, like on a porch, or a covered patio. There must be trees. Also, so much coffee. 

9- What do you do in your free time?

We’re remodeling an antique house, and it is all consuming. It’s also super fun. We found a set of boots from circa 1928 in one of the walls; you can see them on my Instagram.

 

10- Anything you’d like to add?

Just that I absolutely love when readers reach out.

 


 

I need to get my hands on IN HER SKIN I was just reading about it on goodreads and can’t wait for the cover + the synopsis sounds AMAZING.

Another thing, those boots . . . I wish my house was old enough to find cool stuff in XD

I’m moving to an old abandoned house, I don’t care if it’s haunted.

Thank you Kim for letting me interview you today! I adored your answers and CAN NOT WAIT for “In Her Skin”. I will definitely be posting about the cover once it is released! ❤

Hope you guys enjoyed Kim Savage’s interview today! I know I did! ❤

Tomorrow’s author: T. Damon 

 

HAPPY READING, LUVs

Leave a Reply

