Hello Luvs!

unnamed (1).jpg

Welcome to the 22nd interview!

After today’s interview there are only left! Crazy right?

If you’d like to see the past interview’s or the future-(past) depending on when you are reading this interview 😉 anyways click here to see all the interviews!

Now how about I introduce J.M.Sullivan?

here is one of her books!

ALICE: THE WANDERLAND CHRONICLES

34429428

ABOUT J.M.SULLIVAN

J.M.  Sullivan

J.M. Sullivan is a Science Teacher by day, and an author by night. Although known to dabble in adulting, J.M. is a big kid at heart who still believes in true love, magic, and most of all, the power of coffee. If you would like to connect with her for a healthy dose of sparkle, positivity, and a touch of crazy, you can find her on Twitter or Instagram @_JM_Sullivan.

BUY LINKS

KOBO

AMAZON

B&N

INTERVIEW


1- how long have you been writing?

   I’ve been writing since I was little! I’ve always loved writing, especially telling stories. But, I didn’t really buckle down and start getting serious about my writing career until I drafted Alice. That started January 2016. Needless to say, it has been a crazy year, but worth every single minute!

2- Is there a certain genre you’d like to get into?

   Right now I’m really enjoying working with retellings. I absolutely love them. But, if I absolutely had to choose a different genre, I’d probably transition into paranormal, since a lot of my interests are there anyway. I also have a bit of a pet project on my blog that is a Paranormal series that I’m really enjoying working on, so I guess, you could say I’m already getting into it a little bit!

3- Who designed your (latest) book cover?

   My book cover was designed by my amazing Editor In Chief, Miss Dionne Abouelela. She even let me play a part in it, which was super fun. She gave me five designs and then we picked our favorite and made alterations from there. She was so great to work with and the end product is just stunning. I’m so happy with it!  

4- Where do your ideas come from?

   My ideas come from everywhere, but mostly I pull from my interests. Since I write retellings, I get to work with my favorite stories and twist them in all sorts of fun ways. I’m a huge horror and Sci-Fi movie fan, so it makes sense my first two retellings spun the fantasy into those genres. Talk about a mash-up 😉

5- If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing?

   If I wasn’t a writer, I’d probably be doing the same things I am now! Writing is my ‘side-job’ so I find my time to work around my work as a Science teacher and a mom. Although, I’ll admit, I am a bit of a workaholic, so if I wasn’t writing in my spare time, I’m sure I’d find some other hobby to keep me occupied. Maybe cooking or baking! I’ve always wanted to try my hand at cake design! 

6- Do you ever experience writers block? If so how do you get over it?

   Writer’s Block is THE.WORST. For me, I find that the best thing to do is to just press on. I know for some people, walking away to gain a new perspective seems to help, but I find that I lose momentum that way. There may be lots of head banging and whining, but I force myself to keep writing. Even if the words are terrible, getting them onto the page and pushing through the scene is the only way I can fight it off. 

7- How did you come up with your title?

   Oh, my title. Poor Alice has gone through several different name changes. Her first working title was Alice in Zombieland, until (about six chapters into my draft), my husband informed me that there was, in fact, already a book with that title. That didn’t work, so after a little bit of thought, I changed the working title to Alice Z. This stuck through the remainder of the drafting process, but when I started querying, I decided I wanted something that held more of a reference to Wonderland, so I switched it around again to Alice in Wanderland. The name was working out alright, but after I signed my contract with my publisher and started working through the editing process, it just seemed off. I approached my editor about it, and she was actually having the same thoughts so it was back to the drawing board. After a couple of weeks and LOTS of different ideas, there was one that just seemed to keep coming back to me, The Wanderland Chronicles. I knew I wanted Alice to be a series, so I asked Dionne what she thought about making it the series title, and she was all for it! Then, we just had to think of the book title, and since I’d been referring to it is Alice whenever we talked anyway, we figured that was perfect. And so, Alice: The Wanderland Chronicles was crowned the title queen. 

8- what is your perfect writing spot?

  I have an oversized armchair in my living room that I use as my writing spot. It’s nothing fancy, but I love being able to curl up in my chair under a blanket and just type away. One day I may have a writing office with a library and desk space, but for right now, my chair is absolutely perfect.

9- What do you do in your free time?

   I write! When I’m not working or doing mom-stuff, you can find me hiding in my writing corner, listening to music and hanging out with my characters. But if I’m not working, I’m usually reading or watching movies with my family, or trying to get a quick run or yoga session in. I’m not particularly great at either of those things, but I sure do try.

10-Anything you’d like to add?

  Ummm… well, if anyone would like to chat with me, I’d love to connect on Social Media! You can find me on my blog JMSullivanAuthor.Wordpress.com or on Twitter or Instagram @_JM_Sullivan. If you are a writer (or even a reader looking for your next favorite author), check out the #AuthorConfession, it is a monthly game I host where writers spill secrets about themselves, their writing, and their current projects. It’s a blast, and we’d love to see you there

 

FUN

11- Do you write friends, family, or even strangers you met into your novels?

  There are definitely references to my favorite people in my work. I wouldn’t say there are any exact character copies, but definitely bits and pieces have made it in. Some people say to write in your enemies and kill them off, but I would much rather write about people I love, so I do. 🙂

12- If you were a superhero what would your name be?

  Oh gosh. I don’t know. I’m so bad at coming up with names! How about I tell you some of my favorite things and you make one up for me? 😀 You already know a little bit from the answers above, but maybe something that includes my love for coffee and sparkles? What do you think? Have any awesome super-names for me? 😀

 


 

Hmmmmm, Queen of Wanderland? lol

Zombie Queen

Sparkling Coffee (XD)

Empress Caffeine

I don’t know if those are any good XD but I’m not that good at coming up with names myself, so Luvs, if you have any superhero names for J.M.Sullivan comment them below!

That’s it for today’s interview!
I hope you all enjoyed it!

unnamed.jpg

Thank you J.M.Sullivan for letting me interview you today! Your answers were Luvely and I can’t wait to read your book!

there is no interview tomorrow! But on the 25th is

DALLAS CORYELL 

whether you are from the past, present or future . . .

HAPPY READING, LUVs

 

 

3 thoughts on “MFBL Fest Interview: J.M.Sullivan

Leave a Reply

