Hello Luvs!

Welcome to the 24th interview!

I am going to leave a link to the #MFBLFest page if you are interested in reading the 23 other interview’s that have been held thus far.

LINK HERE

One of Katie Kacvinsky’s novels

(click to go to goodreads)

32596222

As you can see by the title and the image, today I am interviewing Katie Kacvinsky! There will be links to her socials below, along with her bio!

ABOUT KATIE KACVINSKY

Katie Kacvinsky

Kacvinsky is pronounced: Kaz-vin-ski

Hometown: Wausau, WI

Current Dwelling Place: Madison, WI

Other Places I’ve Lived: Corvallis, OR, Madison, WI; Los Angeles, CA; Milwaukee, WI; Phoenix, AZ; Redding, CA

5 Favorite MOVIES: Swingers, Terminator, The Matrix, Airplane, The Jerk

5 Favorite BOOKS: The World According to Garp, Fahrenheit 451, Slaughterhouse Five, The Alchemist, Cannery Row

5 Favorite MUSICIANS:  MORE ABOUT KATIE KACVINSKY ON HER WEBSITE (HERE)

 

LINKS

BNicon.png  amazon logo  twitter logo  facebook-icon

INTERVIEW


 

1- how long have you been writing?

I have been journaling since high school, and I was a journalism major in college so I wrote for my school paper. I started drafting my first (very rough) book when I was twenty years old. But I didn’t actually sell a piece of writing until I was twenty-nine, so I probably spent ten years practicing before I got any good at it.

2- Is there a certain genre you’d like to get into?

I really enjoy YA. I’ve hopped around between sci-fi and contemporary. But I love the YA genre and I don’t see myself leaving it any time soon. I would like to write a book that takes place in Northern Wisconsin (where I live now), and that touches on some of the issues in my area.

3- Who designed your (latest) book cover?

That is a great question—I don’t even know who specifically designed it! I need to email my editor and ask. It was the marketing team at Entangled, but I don’t know which person exactly.

4- Where do your ideas come from?

I have a very, VERY overactive imagination. My brain is always going. Even if it looks like I’m daydreaming, I’m probably imagining a story. Scenes just pop in my head and eventually, they become stories.

5- If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing?

Probably teaching. I have a teaching license and I used to be a high school English teacher. I volunteer a lot my son’s school (I actually just finished teaching kindergartners a writing workshop). I really love working with young writers.

6- Do you ever experience writers block? If so how do you get over it?

I don’t experience writer’s block very often. Usually, if I have a block it’s because I’m bored with something in my book and if I’m bored with it, I cut it out. So, I don’t let myself get stuck for very long by trying to hang onto scenes that are not working. I just move on and stay inspired.

7- How did you come up with your title?

The title of this book was originally MESSAGE ME, but my publishers wanted something that hints more at the storyline. We went back and forth for weeks on new titles, like My Virtual Girlfriend, The Fill-in Girlfriend, My Digital Romance…but nothing was sticking. My sister recommended Don’t Kiss the Messenger, and my publishers loved it. It definitely hints at what is going on in the novel.

8- what is your perfect writing spot?

Usually a coffee shop, but I can write pretty much anywhere. Some of my best material comes when I’m on a run or a walk, just listening to music. My characters start talking and I imagine full scenes in my head, and then I go home and quickly write those scenes down. I’m pretty sure my entire AWAKEN series was written during long runs and hikes.

9- What do you do in your free time?

I love to be outside, so if I’m not writing you will probably find me running around with my dog and my kids at the beach.

10-Anything you’d like to add?

 

I really hope you enjoy Don’t Kiss the Messenger. If you like music, and a bad-ass, witty heroine, I think you will enjoy it. Thanks so much for having me on your blog!

 


 

I think I need to read “DONT KISS THE MESSENGER” it comes out April 10th, 2017 

for anyone who is interested. I am!

Thank you so much Katie for letting me interview you today! You’re answers were great! and can’t wait to get my hands on “Don’t Kiss The Messenger”!

I hope everyone loved today’s interview and add Don’t Kiss the Messenger to your TBR’s, Luvs!

TOMORROW’S AUTHOR: 

MEG KUYATT

 

HAPPY READING, LUVs!

 

Leave a Reply

