Hello Luvs!

In the last interview, we talked to Sherry Ficklin go to the features page and then Special events to see all the author’s interviews so far!

In this interview series, I am interviewing author’s as if they were in a day of High School! How fun?!

Today I am interviewing Leslie Hauser author of Chasing Eveline!

About the Author

 

Leslie Hauser

I am a YA writer and middle school teacher. I have a B.A. in English from UCLA and a Master’s degree in Educational Administration. I was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, and currently reside in Los Angeles, California, with my dog Mr. Darcy. When I’m not living in fictional worlds inside my head, I run all sorts of distances, torture my body at CrossFit, and DVR entirely too many television shows. I dream of one day returning to the Midwest to live on a farm. Or perhaps owning a cookie delivery service.

afgdsfdsgfj  amazon logo  twitter logo  facebook-icon

website

 


 

You walk into the doors and go to your locker, what would your bookish locker look like?

Three pictures on the inside door of the locker: a picture of the 1000 piece book cover puzzle I just put together, a picture of the album cover of The Smiths “Louder Than Bombs”, and a picture of Mr. Darcy (my dog). Inside the locker, all books and folders are neatly organized! 🙂 There is an emergency can of Mello-Yello.

We go to homeroom, the class is talking about a book. Which book is it?

Words in Deep Blue. I just finished this, and I love it so much, I’m talking to all the other kids about it.

For me, math is the most frustrating part of the day! What’s the most frustrating part of being an author?

For me as an indie author, the most frustrating part is trying to get my book noticed.

1+1 = 2… so which characters from your book should we pair together to make a disastrous combination? … as disastrous as I feel about this math class.

Ivy’s mom and dad. Ivy’s mom is too much of a free spirit for the mathematical, orderly life Ivy’s dad has set up. She was smothered by her suburban life.

Your next class is art! What would you love to see drawn out from your book?

One of Chasing Eveline’s album covers!

The bell rings and you grab your art supplies to take to your locker, on the way… you see your crush! Do you go talk to him or run in a different direction? Have you ever run into any swoony guys on purpose… literally or metaphorically? 😉

I wish I would choose to talk to him, but I am who I am and I’d run off in the other direction. (And then beat myself up about it!). Yes, I have orchestrated chance encounters. And they were magical 🙂

We get to lunch and I forgot mine…again. What did you bring… and can you share? I’m starving!

I brought something Keto or Paleo, and I don’t even want to eat it. It’s all yours!

Now it’s time for gym, do you want to ditch and go to the library or stay and play? What’s your favorite sport?

Let’s stay at the gym today! I love playing indoor volleyball. And I also enjoy a round of golf. My favorite sport to watch is college football.

Some of you may be taking notes in history, but I’m staring at the cute guy in the corner, wishing we had our own history I could be thinking about. Do you study the era you write about like I’m studying this guy, or do you wing it like I’m considering within my next conversation with this guy… I mean…did I say that for everyone to hear? Answer the question: how much research do you do for your novel?

So far, I haven’t had to do much research. My settings have been pretty current. I like to do research, though, on minor aspects in the novel, the things that add an extra layer of meaning.

Thanks for being a distraction in history, now lets get to music! We are late so we end up playing (what instrument)? Do you have a favorite song or genre of music you listen to when writing?

It’s a mixed tape! Some indie (older and current) and some instrumental and maybe a few pop songs thrown in there! Whatever fits the mood of my story.

Off to Chemistry! My favorite class… wait, not like the swoony Chemistry? Drat! well, let’s hope we get to make something explode today! What was the most explosively cool thing you’ve been able to do as an author?

I’ve given author talks at schools. That’s pretty fun, and it’s cool when the kids are taking notes and hanging on my every word 🙂

Today went well! We didn’t get to make anything explode but maybe next time! What book should we fan-girl over on the bus today?

Well, besides Chasing Eveline? 🙂 I can’t stop gushing about Words in Deep Blue. Seriously. You need to read it. Now!

Thank you so much for letting me interview you!

I love it here! Thank you for making Back to School so much fun! 🙂

 


Well, I guess I need to read two books! Chasing Eveline and Words in Deep Blue!
Luv’s what was your favorite question/answer?
I had so much fun with reading your replies, Leslie! They were amazing! and I’m so happy you liked going back to high school with me! XD

HAPPY READING, LUVs

2 thoughts on “Back To School Interviews with Leslie Hauser

Leave a Reply

