Welcome back to school, Luvs!

Make sure to go check out all the other lovely author’s who joined in on this event! ❤

 

Today I am interviewing Jessica Kapp author of Body Parts.

Let’s start off by introducing the new student! 😉

About Jessica Kapp

cropped-bw-kapp-headshotJESSICA KAPP always thought her penmanship would improve with age. She even wished for it on her eleventh birthday. But after having a hard time deciphering her own writing, she hijacked her grandma’s typewriter—a really cool one with white correction tape—and started creating fictional worlds. She loves to imagine the what-ifs of life as she writes contemporary and speculative fiction for young adults. Jessica lives with her husband and children on a small farm in Washington state with far too many goats and the occasional cow.

 

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa    amazon logo    facebook-icon    twitter logo0000B&N000audible   000googleplay   Image result for youtube logo    000ibooks   000indiebound   000kobo

 

website

 


 

You walk into the doors and go to your locker, what would your bookish locker look like?

The outside of my locker would be decorated to look like a book spine! Inside, I’d have magnetic quotes from my favorite books, plenty of journals for me to write down story ideas, and several pens so I never have an excuse not to write. And I’d always have books on hand to read or lend to a friend.

We go to homeroom, the class is talking about a book. Which book is it?

Something a little dark and twisted, like Unwind by Neal Shusterman.

For me, math is the most frustrating part of the day! What’s the most frustrating part of being an author?

Writing myself into a corner! Sometimes a scene goes off in a direction you don’t expect, and after 5,000 words, you realize it’s not the direction you wanted to go. It’s like working on a math problem for two hours only to realize you did the first step wrong. I hate having to go back and start over!

1+1 = 2… so which characters from your book should we pair together to make a disastrous combination? … as disastrous as I feel about this math class.

Kenny and his brother, Ry. Kenny would do anything for a little praise for their father, even if it means sabotaging his little brother’s safety. Ry falsely believes his brother has his best intentions in mind, and putting those two together would be disastrous–at least for sweet, trusting Ry.

Your next class is art! What would you love to see drawn out from your book?

I love art class!! Can I stay here forever??! Okay, so in BODY PARTS, people are addicted to pills that perfect them. There are pills that can make your hair grow five inches in five minutes, give you super-sonic hearing, instant muscle tone, and so on! I would love to see the results of these powerful–but dangerous–pills, drawn out.

The bell rings and you grab your art supplies to take to your locker, on the way… you see your crush! Do you go talk to him or run in a different direction? Have you ever run into any swoony guys on purpose… literally or metaphorically? 😉

Eep! Well, I wouldn’t run in a different direction, but I would look away or, better yet, find someone to talk to so I didn’t have to make eye contact. I’m simply not that brave! Now, if this crush has flirted with me before, I might have the courage…but I’m not the type to make the first move. I crush from afar until I know it’s safe to engage flirting. 🙂

We get to lunch and I forgot mine…again. What did you bring… and can you share? I’m starving!

Of course, I’ll share! I’ve got a bagel sandwich: toasted with a cream cheese spread, lunch meat, cheese and a chipotle sauce, and maybe even a tomato. I definitely have chips (I can’t live without them), and most likely a Rice Krispie treat we can split in half. I prefer water, but I’m sure I can scrounge up some change so we can get a couple of sodas if you prefer 🙂

Now it’s time for gym, do you want to ditch and go to the library or stay and play? What’s your favorite sport?

Um… sorry. No ditching for me. As much as I LOVE libraries, I’m all about sports. Bring on P.E.! I play soccer on a Monday night league (we won first in our summer division and our sponsor is sending us to Seattle to play next year!) and I play basketball in the winter on a co-ed league. But I also love volleyball! Choosing just one is too hard–that’s like picking a favorite book. I like too many 🙂

Some of you may be taking notes in history, but I’m staring at the cute guy in the corner, wishing we had our own history I could be thinking about. Do you study the era you write about like I’m studying this guy, or do you wing it like I’m considering within my next conversation with this guy… I mean…did I say that for everyone to hear? Answer the question: how much research do you do for your novel?

Lol! I would love to say I research the snot out of everything, but I wing it quite a bit! I mean, I DO research. For BODY PARTS, I talked with a geneticist on how people metabolize chemicals in different ways, and I learned that redheads need more anesthesia than non-redheads. But, in so far as the storyline, I veer away from my outline and fly by the seat of my pants. I never know where my characters are going to take me… hence, why I write myself into a corner sometimes (refer to the math question above)

Thanks for being a distraction in history, now lets get to music! We are late so we end up playing (what instrument)? Do you have a favorite song or genre of music you listen to when writing?

Does Rock Band guitar count as an instrument? I only play piano, and badly. How about we say you played and I cheered you on? M’kay? I love twenty one pilots, but I need COMPLETE SILENCE when writing. Now, AFTER I write, I like to figure out what songs go with scenes or characters. But I don’t listen to music when I’m trying to write all the words. 🙂

Off to Chemistry! My favorite class… wait, not like the swoony Chemistry? Drat! well, let’s hope we get to make something explode today! What was the most explosively cool thing you’ve been able to do as an author?

Ha! I agree! Chemistry is not my favorite class either… But yes, let’s get crazy! I think one of the coolest things was being able to hear my audiobook for the first time. The fact that someone was paid to read my story and give my characters a real voice was pretty cool.

Today went well! We didn’t get to make anything explode but maybe next time! What book should we fan-girl over on the bus today?

There’s always next time, right?! 🙂 I have a few I like to swoon over… Legend by Marie Lu. Skin Jackers by Neal Shusterman, The Sun is Also a Star by Nikola Yoon. They’re all amazing! Of course, we can swoon over mine too if you want 😉

Thank you so much for letting me interview you!

Thanks for having me! This was fun!!

 


*impatiently adds book to cart*
I need ITTTTTTT
I adored her answers! And after hearing that little part about the pills and Ry and Kenny… there is no way I’m NOT getting this book as soon as possible. So that’s added onto the list for “BUY IMMEDIATELY” XD
Thank you, Jessica, for being here today! and the bagel sandwich was great!
We only have two more interviews, Luvs!
Do you have any favorite interviews so far??

HAPPY READING, LUVs

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

