Hello Luv!

 

Welcome to my Back to School interview series! to see more of them click here<<< but first continue reading Jenny’s interview!

 

About Jenny Keller Ford

 

JKellerFord-web-300px

J. (Jenny) Keller Ford is a scribbler of speculative fiction and YA tales. As an Army brat, she traveled the world and wandered the halls of some of Germany’s most extraordinary castles in hopes of finding snarky dragons, chivalrous knights, and wondrous magic to permeate her imagination. What she found remains etched in her topsy-turvy mind and oozes out in sweeping tales of courage, sacrifice, honor and everlasting love. When not torturing her keyboard or trying to silence the voices in her head, Jenny spends time collecting seashells, bowling, screaming on roller coasters and traveling. She is a mom to four magnificent and noble offspring and currently lives in paradise on the west coast of Florida with a menagerie of royal pets, and her own quirky knight who was brave enough to marry her.

 

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa  twitter logo  facebook-icon

http://www.j-keller-ford.com/

wordpress


 

You walk into the doors and go to your locker, what would your bookish locker look like?

I have the coolest locker ever. The inside is decorated like you’re in a mystical forest. Faux trees stand in the corners, their branches stretched over the top shelf of school books swathed in fantastical book covers: you know, fairies, dragons, unicorns. Small fairy and dragon figurines would linger on the branches. More books would lay on their sides on the bottom shelf on top of a carpet of grass (fake of course). There would also be a dragon holding a sea shell made by Julie Kagawa (have you seen the ones she makes? They’re adorable!!) On the inside of the door would be another tree with cups hanging from the branches where I keep my pencils and pens. There would also be a little magic chest that would hold my compact mirror and lipstick.

We go to homeroom, the class is talking about a book. Which book is it?

TOWER OF DAWN, by Sarah Maas. Like who is NOT talking about this book?

For me, math is the most frustrating part of the day! What’s the most frustrating part of being an author?

For me, I think it’s trying to bring a scene together in a way that the reader is in the scene, not just reading it. It’s hard creating clear, concise scenes that are interesting and entertaining without telling the reader what you’re doing. Showing the scene is so much harder. That’s why I’m glad I have beta readers who can pick those scenes out right away and aren’t afraid to say, “Hey, Jen, this is awful. You can do better.” These sorts of comments force me to write better and I hope it shows in the books.

1+1 = 2… so which characters from your book should we pair together to make a disastrous combination? … as disastrous as I feel about this math class.

Slavandria and Seyekrad. That would be cataclysmic, as in destroy the world bad.

Your next class is art! What would you love to see drawn out from your book?

Einar. He is a big, beautiful, magnificent dragon twice the size of Smaug from Lord of the Rings fame. He’s black as onyx, dipped in liquid amethyst. I would love to see the scene where Eric sees him for the first time. The dragon is burning everything, yet there is a moment were Eric just stares, partially in fear, the other in admiration. It’s an intense scene that I would love to see played out in art.

The bell rings and you grab your art supplies to take to your locker, on the way… you see your crush! Do you go talk to him or run in a different direction? Have you ever run into any swoony guys on purpose… literally or metaphorically? 😉

I’d smile, say hi if he’s not surrounded by all the jocks, then scurry to my locker where I’d calm my beating heart. I would never purposely run into my swoon-worthy guy, but I would dream of doing so all the time. I’m too shy to do something so bold. Knowing my luck, it would backfire.

We get to lunch and I forgot mine…again. What did you bring… and can you share? I’m starving!

Turkey, brie and apple sandwich on raisin-walnut bread, cucumber and zucchini slices and red and green grapes. And of course you can have some. There is always plenty for my BFF.

Now it’s time for gym, do you want to ditch and go to the library or stay and play? What’s your favorite sport?

Stay and play of course. It’s archery day!!!!

Some of you may be taking notes in history, but I’m staring at the cute guy in the corner, wishing we had our own history I could be thinking about. Do you study the era you write about like I’m studying this guy, or do you wing it like I’m considering within my next conversation with this guy… I mean…did I say that for everyone to hear? Answer the question: how much research do you do for your novel?

Do I do research? You betcha, especially astrological signs. I mean, I have to know if characters are compatible or not. Sometimes I like throwing opposites together to see if they really do attract. Since I like to put my characters in fantasy settings, I do like to research castles and their surroundings. I have to see how much danger I can put them in to see if they can make it through the horrors I put them in. It’s quite fun, actually.

Thanks for being a distraction in history, now lets get to music! We are late so we end up playing (what instrument)? Do you have a favorite song or genre of music you listen to when writing?

Guitars, of course. Classical guitars. The melodies are so rich and beautiful. I listen a lot to classical guitar, movie soundtracks, and celtic music when I write. I can find so many songs that fit the moods of my characters or a scene that is taking place in the book. I also like some country and pop songs, and you can hear them all on my Spotify playlists.

Off to Chemistry! My favorite class… wait, not like the swoony Chemistry? Drat! well, let’s hope we get to make something explode today! What was the most explosively cool thing you’ve been able to do as an author?

Have my first book published! I can’t even explain how I felt seeing my first book in print. My words, once my own, now belonged to the world. The feeling is indescribable, and the feeling doesn’t go away with each book. In fact, I think it gets stronger. It’s crazy but I like this kind of crazy.

Today went well! We didn’t get to make anything explode but maybe next time! What book should we fan-girl over on the bus today?

Have you read SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS, by Darcy Woods, or SPARKS OF LIGHT by Janet B. Taylor? OMG!! You’ve got to read them!! Awesome romances, one contemporary, one historical time-travel fantasy, but both will make you wanna snuggle with your kitty or pup and a hot cup of tea. Total feel-good books!!!

Thank you so much for letting me interview you!

Aww. Thank you!! This was a fun interview. I had a lot of fun. See you soon, and don’t forget to check out my book, IN THE SHADOW OF THE DRAGON KING, and the second book in the trilogy, RAGE OF THE DRAGON KING, coming October 24. I look forward to chatting with you again. 🙂

 


 

Thank you Jenny!

I had so much fun with these interviews! we have 2 more guys so stay alert for Alicia Gaile and M.C. Frank! ❤

 

Do you enjoy my mini-series interviews, Luvs?

 

 

HAPPY READING, LUVs

Leave a Reply

